Author Topic: Obsolete Thread - Android OS Not Ready & FAQ  (Read 153443 times)

YouWaveModerator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 804
    • View Profile
Obsolete Thread - Android OS Not Ready & FAQ
« on: January 04, 2013, 03:36:24 PM »
Support guidelines (READ CAREFULLY / FAQ BELOW)

To help us work more effeciently, we have setup a few guidelines that will benefit both parties, to save unnecassary dialogs

#1 When you get redirected, please wait patiently until you get attended. Allow up to 24 hours for the next responder to pick up your problem.
#2 Dont persist we help you via Facebook or other means. We just can't help you, until you follow directions.
#3 Dont request us to test your apps, we dont have the time nor the resources to test everyone's favorite app, read FAQ 7 and see our list of x86 and Java apps
#4 We dont provide computer lessons, we expect our customers to have a basic understanding of how a computer works.
#5 READ and EXECUTE directions before asking the next the question.
« Last Edit: November 15, 2015, 01:19:18 AM by YouWaveAdmin »
___________________________________________________________________________

Frequent Asked Questions (FAQ) here: http://youwave.com/forum/index.php?topic=3439.0
DO NOT SEND PERSONAL MESSAGES
___________________________________________________________________________

YouWaveModerator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 804
    • View Profile
FAQ 1: Android OS Not Ready
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2013, 03:45:51 PM »
FAQ 1: Android OS Not Ready / YouWave Not Starting
_________________________________________________________

Important Preflight-check:
- Make sure YouWave is installed on drive C:\
- If you run Windows XP make sure you have .NET framework 2 installed
- Make sure you dont have VirtualBox installed on the same machine. VirtualBox and YouWave are incompatible
- Make sure youwave_vm01.vdi is not mounted nor being used by another program (like WinMount or PowerISO)
- Some anti-virus programs can prevent YouWave from installing or block essential parts like vboxSDL.exe (Read FAQ 4)
- In Windows 8.1 it may be required for you to install youwave in Windows 7 compatibility mode
- We recommend a minimum of 1.5GB ram, but YouWave is able to run on machines with less ram, in some cases it may be necessary to tweak ram-settings
_________________________________________________________

A) Re-install YouWave (Follow these steps accordingly):
- Uninstall YouWave
- Restart your computer
- Install YouWave

NOTE1: Do not repeat these steps unless told to do so, simply repeating this step will not solve your issue, you may block your YouWave installation.
NOTE2: Make sure you install the latest official release from our site www.youwave.com/download

Proceed to section B if problem persists
_________________________________________________________

B) Reset Android OS: (Also works for: android.process.acore error)

Home users:
File → Android Factory Reset

Proceed to section C if problem persists
_________________________________________________________

C) If the above doesnt fix your problem, post the next 2 files to info@youwave.com or our forum (NOT via FaceBook) (example)
%USERPROFILE%\youwave\youwave.log
%USERPROFILE%\.Virtualbox\Machines\youwave_vm01\Logs\VBox.log

Include the details of your problem to the mail or post, allow at least  24 hours for support to reply.
PS: If YouWave was working before, report all changes of your computer (including software / hardware updates)
« Last Edit: March 01, 2015, 12:48:18 AM by YouWaveModerator »
___________________________________________________________________________

Frequent Asked Questions (FAQ) here: http://youwave.com/forum/index.php?topic=3439.0
DO NOT SEND PERSONAL MESSAGES
___________________________________________________________________________

YouWaveModerator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 804
    • View Profile
FAQ 2: Time out of sync
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2013, 03:58:29 PM »
FAQ 2: Time out of sync:

A) Solution:
- Settings
- Date & Time
- [uncheck] Automatic Date & Time

B) You can also try ClockSync, instructions here:
http://youwave.com/forum/index.php?topic=3860.0
« Last Edit: March 28, 2014, 02:06:55 PM by YouWaveModerator »
___________________________________________________________________________

Frequent Asked Questions (FAQ) here: http://youwave.com/forum/index.php?topic=3439.0
DO NOT SEND PERSONAL MESSAGES
___________________________________________________________________________

YouWaveModerator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 804
    • View Profile
FAQ 3: Important backup-ID's
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2013, 04:07:26 PM »
FAQ 3: Important backup-ID's

IMEI/MEID = Hardcoded in the VDI files (Location: %USERPROFILE%\.Virtualbox\HardDisks).
Android ID = /sdcard/Id (Backup this file)

===============================================
*Backup Android ID via command:
su
cp /sdcard/Id /sdcard/c/Id.txt


Restore Android ID via command
su
cat /sdcard/c/Id.txt > /sdcard/Id


*TIP: Click View -> Open Shared Folder and copy Id.txt to another location
« Last Edit: January 28, 2014, 06:09:11 PM by YouWaveModerator »
___________________________________________________________________________

Frequent Asked Questions (FAQ) here: http://youwave.com/forum/index.php?topic=3439.0
DO NOT SEND PERSONAL MESSAGES
___________________________________________________________________________

YouWaveModerator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 804
    • View Profile
FAQ 4: vboxSDL.exe
« Reply #4 on: February 05, 2013, 09:22:28 PM »
FAQ 4: vboxSDL.exe or Installer Deletion
____________________________________________________________________

A) What causes vboxSDL.exe error?
Certain anti-virus programs block vboxSDL.exe as the result of false positives, effectively quarantining or deleting a essential part of the youwave emulator. We advice users that experience this problem to report this on our forum, so we can proceed to whitelist the software with your anti-virus vendor. In the meantime consult the support-pages of your anti-virus support, for a temporary solution.

B) Installer deleted upon download?
Some antivirus features like Norton's Download Inteligence, delete the YouWave installer without the user's consent. Just like the vboxSDL.exe error. We advice users that experience this problem to report this on our forum, so we can proceed to white-list the software with your anti-virus vendor. In the meantime consult the support-pages of your anti-virus support, for a temporary solution.

C) Provide the anti-virus name & instructions, to help others via the following topic:
http://youwave.com/forum/index.php?topic=3629.0

PS: Windows Security may also ask you to block "VBoxSDL.exe",with the option not to ask again. Making re-installation attempts fail. This claim is still being investigated.

« Last Edit: September 15, 2014, 11:15:08 AM by YouWaveModerator »
___________________________________________________________________________

Frequent Asked Questions (FAQ) here: http://youwave.com/forum/index.php?topic=3439.0
DO NOT SEND PERSONAL MESSAGES
___________________________________________________________________________

YouWaveModerator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 804
    • View Profile
FAQ 5: How YouWave's Shared Folder works
« Reply #5 on: February 06, 2013, 12:40:32 AM »
FAQ 5: How YouWave's Shared Folder works:
____________________________________________________________________
A) Home Users
You can import PC files, by placing them in C:\Users\Public.
YouWave will display the PC files in the following directory /sdcard/c

Shared Folder Locations:
PC directory: C:\Users\Public
YouWave directory: /sdcard/c

In YouWave the files are accesible thru the following apps:
- Gallary
- Open Manager (at /sdcard/c)
- 3rd party File Managers (eg: ES File Manager)

TIP: Click View > Open Shared Folder to easily access C:\Users\Public
Windows XP users should manually create C:\Users\Public
____________________________________________________________________

B) Basic Users:
Basic Users should use the dropbox method:
http://youwave.com/forum/index.php?topic=3628.0
« Last Edit: September 14, 2013, 01:28:35 AM by YouWaveModerator »
___________________________________________________________________________

Frequent Asked Questions (FAQ) here: http://youwave.com/forum/index.php?topic=3439.0
DO NOT SEND PERSONAL MESSAGES
___________________________________________________________________________

YouWaveModerator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 804
    • View Profile
FAQ 6: Current status on Arabic and International keyboard?
« Reply #6 on: February 06, 2013, 12:57:14 AM »
FAQ 6: Current status on Arabic and International keyboard?
================================================
06 May 2013
A fully functional Arabic Keyboard has been released, please give us feedback... if any flaws are detected

To enable Arabic keyboard:
Go to Settings -> Language & Input -> Physical Keyboard layout -> Choose Arabic. After this you should be able to type in Arabic using your physical keyboard.
Sometimes it maybe required to restart YouWave for changes to take effect

SIMILIAR THREAD:
http://youwave.com/forum/index.php?topic=3696.0

================================================
06 Feb 2013
We had a short meeting about this keyboard issue, it was in production but it got interupted by a higher priority project. The problem is we need to create our own custom KCM (Key Character Map) for Arabic. As you might imagine thats not a easy task, we have to create a algorithm that alters the character codes, based on there position in the sentence.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arabic_characters_in_Unicode

We're very aware about this issue and the ongoing threads:
http://youwave.com/forum/index.php?topic=2080.0
http://youwave.com/forum/index.php?topic=3506.0
http://youwave.com/forum/index.php?topic=3513.0

But unfortunately we dont have the resources to complete projects fast enough to give you a estimated release date, we're doing our best to complete the projects as fast as possible.

PS: 3rd party keyboards also dont seem to work with ICS, the Basic version has better support for 3rd party keyboards
« Last Edit: July 17, 2013, 02:31:56 AM by YouWaveModerator »
___________________________________________________________________________

Frequent Asked Questions (FAQ) here: http://youwave.com/forum/index.php?topic=3439.0
DO NOT SEND PERSONAL MESSAGES
___________________________________________________________________________

YouWaveModerator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 804
    • View Profile
FAQ 7: What to do when a app doesn't work (or if I get a ARM Native Code Error)?
____________________________________________________________________

A) App force closes / ARM Native Code Error
http://youwave.com/forum/index.php?topic=3861.0

B) WhatsApp specific issues
http://youwave.com/forum/index.php?topic=3859.0
« Last Edit: August 30, 2013, 11:02:40 AM by YouWaveModerator »
___________________________________________________________________________

Frequent Asked Questions (FAQ) here: http://youwave.com/forum/index.php?topic=3439.0
DO NOT SEND PERSONAL MESSAGES
___________________________________________________________________________

YouWaveModerator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 804
    • View Profile
Re: Android OS Not Ready & FAQ
« Reply #8 on: February 06, 2013, 01:58:19 AM »
FAQ 8: Why can't I mount [/System] as writable, with Super User enabled?
This feauture is currently unavailable, but we will make it available in the future

http://youwave.com/forum/index.php?topic=2654.0
http://youwave.com/forum/index.php?topic=3523.0
http://youwave.com/forum/index.php?topic=2069.0
« Last Edit: March 14, 2013, 11:45:08 PM by reconx86 »
___________________________________________________________________________

Frequent Asked Questions (FAQ) here: http://youwave.com/forum/index.php?topic=3439.0
DO NOT SEND PERSONAL MESSAGES
___________________________________________________________________________

YouWaveModerator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 804
    • View Profile
Re: Android OS Not Ready & FAQ
« Reply #9 on: February 06, 2013, 05:19:32 AM »
FAQ 9: Multiple Users
Every Windows User Account has its own unique disk space in YouWave.
Meaning everyone can install there own apps & files, without interfering with other Users.

PS: VirtualBox & YouWave dont work within the same User Account
« Last Edit: March 14, 2013, 11:45:30 PM by reconx86 »
___________________________________________________________________________

Frequent Asked Questions (FAQ) here: http://youwave.com/forum/index.php?topic=3439.0
DO NOT SEND PERSONAL MESSAGES
___________________________________________________________________________

YouWaveModerator

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 804
    • View Profile
Re: Android OS Not Ready & FAQ
« Reply #10 on: March 12, 2013, 04:28:16 AM »
FAQ 10: Why does my internet not work?
_________________________________________________________

A) Check if your computer is still connected to the internet
Use your favorite desktop browser to browse to www.youwave.com
_________________________________________________________

B) Restart YouWave
Restart youwave and open YouWave's internal browser to check if youwave's homepage loads (www.youwave.com)
_________________________________________________________

C) DNS Check (DO NOT SKIP THIS STEP)
Sometimes there can be DNS issues with YouWave even if your computer has internet
Use YouWave's internal browser and enter this IP-address in the address-bar: 74.125.1.1
- If the site opens (Google) you have a DNS issue, change primary DNS and restart youwave to resolve problem
- If the site doesn't open you possibly have a proxy or other network issue blocking the connection of your apps like a router or firewall
_________________________________________________________

D) How to setup proxy (for Home users only)
 Youwave will automatically attempt to read and set your global proxy settings, if your proxy settings are not globally available you will have to set them manually:
- Start YouWave Home
- Click the tiles-icon in the upper-right corner of the Home-screen
- Click Settings Icon
- Click Proxy Settings
If you do not know your proxy-settings, ask your network administrator for the proxy-settings

NOTE 1: Do NOT use 127.0.0.1 or localhost to connect to your proxy, instead use 10.0.2.2 to redirect to the host-computer
NOTE 2: Do not bother with the wifi-toggle, YouWave emulates a wifi-connection without sliding it on
NOTE 3: YouWave does not support proxy-authentication
NOTE 4: To view current global proxy settings of your PC, press Windows + R and type inetcpl.cpl, than click Connections [Tab] > LAN Settings [button]
_________________________________________________________
« Last Edit: March 02, 2015, 05:33:15 AM by YouWaveModerator »
___________________________________________________________________________

Frequent Asked Questions (FAQ) here: http://youwave.com/forum/index.php?topic=3439.0
DO NOT SEND PERSONAL MESSAGES
___________________________________________________________________________